Tbong Khmum

History of Tbong Khmum

Tbong Khmum (Bee’s Diamond) is normally a province of Cambodia on the central lowlands of the Mekong River. It borders the provinces of Kampong Cham to the west, Kratié to the north, Prey Veng south, and shares a global border with Vietnam to the east. Its capital and the largest city can be Suong. The province’s name includes two words in Khmer, Tboung (gem, valuable jewel) and Khmum (bee), which together mean “amber”.

The district is easily accessed by road from Kampong Cham city, Kratie or Prey Veng. Tboung Khmum is among the largest districts in Tboung Khmum Province both by land area and by population, and only Memot district includes a larger region. National Highway 7 bisects the district operating from east to west. National Highway 11 runs from Nhek Loeung in Prey Veng Province and ends at Slab Kadoung on National Highway 7 in Tboung Khmum district. National road 73 begins close to the eastern border of the district and runs north to Chhloung town in Chhloung District in Kratie.

In 2001, the Kizuna bridge was opened in that which was then Kampong Cham District. It had been the 1st bridge to become built over the Mekong river in Cambodia. The Kizuna bridge links eastern and western Cambodia by road for the very first time. It links the provincial capital of Kampong Cham with Tonle Bet in Tboung Khmum district. Construction of the bridge began in 1999 and took 3 years to complete. Around 10,000 people crowded the bridge for the opening ceremony.

Tboung Khmum Province was formed when Kampong Cham Province was split in two by a royal decree signed on 31 December 2013 by King Norodom Sihamoni on the recommendation of Prime Minister Hun Sen.

The province is subdivided into 6 districts and one city.

  1. Dambae
  2. Krouch Chhmar
  3. Memot
  4. Ou Reang Ov
  5. Ponhea Kraek
  6. Tboung Khmum
  7. Krong Suong